Posted by: Chad | May 30, 2013

Persuasive Technology …. User Experience

20130530-105614.jpg

I am at a Marketing Conference.

But, not just any conference, I am attending #BMABlaze, put on by the International Business Marketing Association. The best conference I attend yearly.

Second session, second day, it hit me in the head, an idea that completely baffled me.

The discussion was devices
and user experience
and content
and persuasion
and, of course, marketing

On a slight tangent, the panelist spoke of a refrigerator, a refrigerator with a computer chip in the door. This chip technology had the “intelligence” to:

Record when you open the door, track what you took out, put that item on a list, order that item from your grocery store. You eat and you pick up (or get delivered) your groceries that have been shopped for you.

I typically embrace technology. But, I can’t lose the human touch, I need human interaction. As we discuss mobile, social, data, habits, trends and technology this week, consider reality.

750 of us have come together in person, to learn from each other, yet we are hearing more and more about tools and technology that separate us from human interaction.

I will go to the grocery store and pick out my own flour tortillas.
I will pick up the phone and talk.
I will leave my bubble that technology and tools create.

Responses

  1. Nicely written. Great commentary.

  2. Chad, You Rock Man!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,101 other followers

