Posted by: Chad | January 25, 2010

Why Brett Favre Will Play Next Year

Brett Favre finished his year (and potentially) his career yesterday with the Minnesota Vikings the same way her did with the Packers two years ago.  An interception that cost his team a chance to go to the Super Bowl.

FULL DISCLOSURE: I am a Packer Fan.  I am not a Brett fan, unless he is playing for the Packers.  I don’t really care that he left.  I like Aaron Rodgers and I am sure I will like the next guy after him.  After the Cowboys & Bears, a fan born in Wisconsin is taught to hate the Vikings 3rd most and I fit that mold.  I married a Viking Fan…..and was still allowed to keep my birth name.  Now that that is out there………..

Brett Favre is still, at age 40, one of the best quarterbacks in the league and this is why he should continue to play.

  1. At age 40 he is at least a top 10 quarterback in the NFL (in no order; Brady, Roethlisberger, Manning, Manning, Rivers, Romo, McNabb, Rodgers, Brees).  One could argue that he is still in the top 5.
  2. It appears that he still loves the game.
  3. He did not make as many mistakes this year as he did many times in the past.
  4. The Viking are a very good team (I hate to say it).  One of the best running backs in the league, a good offensive line, a good D and another year to work with his receivers could make all the difference.
  5. Even with all the records, one Super Bowl win is not enough.  Trent Dilfer won a Super Bowl.
  6. As I mentioned in my first statement, 2 of 3 years he threw picks to end a Super Bowl birth.  I doubt that ego wants to go out that way.
  7. It’s a good story, he is an iron man.  Every sport has only a handful of players who do what Brett Favre, Cal Ripken and A.C. Green have done.

The bottom line is, Brett will play another year, he needs to, the NFL wants him to, Darrell Bevell and Brad Childress want him to.

So, Brett, don’t drag this one out, go back to Kiln, jump on your tractor, take it for a ride, and just say yes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

