Posted by: Chad | June 20, 2011

My Favorite Conference of the Year #BMAUnleash

Now that all the Pro’s are done or nearly done blogging about the best B2B Conference of this year, I will give it a shot.

For the past 4 years, I have had the pleasure of attending the BMA (Business Marketing Association) National Conference.  This year, it was in one of my favorite cities, Chicago.

As attending conferences go, I am picky about what sessions to attend.  I work for a medium size food manufacturer/distributor and sometimes I get into a session with a Fortune 50 CMO’s,  waxing poetically, and the scale of the message is lost on my application.  My goal is to always find sessions in which I can pull a nugget or two of information or scale the information to fit my needs.

My TOP 3 of the conference:

1. On the first night of the conference the BMA treated us to a boat/cruise on Lake Michigan.  This was an opportunity to eat, drink and socialize with conference attendees and speakers.  The conversation I had that stuck with me was with Lawler Kang, author and speaker.  He was one of FIVE morning sessions the next day that I had to choose from.  Thankfully, I chose his session and was happy I did.  Check him out.

2. Seth.  Poke The Box.  If he doesn’t make you think, check your pulse.  Go start something.

3. The BMA Colorado Chapter wrote a book.  Amazing, 24 B2B marketing pros contributed.  3 of the authors talked about the process.  Of course I read Carla’s chapter on the train to the airport and can’t wait to read the rest.  Advice From the Top: The Expert Guide to B2B Marketing

Though it is a bit self gratuitous, I should also mention that the conference afforded me the opportunity to do a little deal on Blog Talk Radio with the smartest kid in the room,  for a very cool blog.  Check out The Transparency Revolution.  If you are a B2B marketer, do not miss this conference next year. www.marketing.org 

If you are lucky, you may get to hang out with #thelegend(s), I did

Responses

  1. […] “My favorite conference of the year” – By Chad Hartman […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

