Posted by: Chad | August 12, 2017

I think I am getting soft ….

I love reading books by and about musicians. I have less than 0% music ability. My only music talent is turning the volume up and getting to the rail at most metal shows.

I am half way through this one, and wish I had highlighted my way through the thoughts he has shared. I doubt the Dorchester County Library would appreciate that, but then, who is picking up this book in St George, SC? Corey Taylor … thought provoking … true story. 

I was having a conversation with a PAX in the gloom (def. friend I work out with) about … where are you from? We have both lived in Fort Mill for 12 years, both are in our mid-40’s (I know, you had no idea I was that old), and have both moved around through the years. This is the place I have lived the longest since growing up, so, am I from here? Corey suggests that you are from 2 places (I may be a bit loosy goosy on that interpretation) 1. The place you grew up, and, 2. the place that defined you. I’ll buy that, but, am still not sure about #2.

Get on with it … why are you getting soft?

I confess, over the years, I have listened to most every kind of music. Lately (the past 10 years … Fort Mill years) I have gone back to my metalhead roots, Testament, Slayer, Anthrax, Megadeth, Death Angel, Exodus and the list goes on. In a month, Exodus and Obituary are open a tour in Durham, I’m in. It has been a good year for shows, Seputura, Kreator, Obituary, Testament, Armored Saint, Iron Maiden, Ghost and even the legendary Diamond Head.

Do you have a point?

As I write this, I am listening to Stone Sour (Corey made me do it) … On purpose, I turned on Volbeat more than once in the last year … a co-worker recommended Tool last weekend, and there I am, getting my grunge on. I’m not sure I like the way this is going … that’s not a knock on that which is not thrash metal, it’s actually growing on me, so it may be a compliment … and I may have to download Hydrograd.

Family, work, music, friends, Fort Mill, PAX, travel, hobbies, age (you are not a spring chicken anymore) … you are all part of the last 12 … which probably makes that my answer to #2.

Leave a Reply

Categories

