Posted by: Chad | March 2, 2023

Recovering Marketer Part 2, The Reply

In previous post, Contact Us, I probably got a little to far in “The Reply”, but will see if I can add a little here.

First, I realized it has been 3 weeks since my last post. That was not my intension, I need to do better.

Enough housekeeping.

I have been told I am a bit of an anomaly. If someone sends me a message, a personal message, I typically respond. Yes, even if it is a cold email from someone trying to sell me valve gasket thing-a-majigs for my V valves on my fire prevention system, if it appears to be a personal one-on-one message, I respond. LinkedIn message, yes response. DM on a random social site, yes response. Phone calls, yes, I pick up. I’m not perfect, but I never purposely do not respond.

I email many, many customers and suppliers and get very few responses. Don’t get me wrong, I begin with an email, and do whatever I need to, to make a connection and establish the best way to communicate.

In my opinion, there are 3 acceptable answers:

Yes, I would like to work with you

No, I don’t want any, please do not call me again

Maybe, let’s continue the conversation

I get it, if you reply you will be plugged into an automated loop, yuck. You don’t want to talk to a salesperson. You figured everything out, and you don’t need help. Got it, you have your bubble. I’ve always tried to communicate as I wanted to be communicated with, right, do unto others, that whole thing.

Try my process for a month, see if you learn anything, or make a valuable connection.

I have a few more strong feelings that relate to Contact Us and this post. Recovering Marketer, Part 3 will be a bit of a smorgasbord, and I’ll say, coming soon, as I have some travel coming up.

Give my best to the next cold caller you reply to.


Leave a comment

Categories